See You In Jinja! – Devastated Rajiv Promises Massive Comeback After Mbabara Early Exit

Rajiv Ruparelia on Sunday, February 16 retired from the Rukaari-Lake Mburo Mbarara Rally, after a technical fault paving way for Duncan ‘Kikankane’ Mubiru who added a third Mbarara Rally title to his trophy cabinet after winning the 2020 edition of the Robert Rukaari Mwesigwa sponsored event on Sunday.
Cruising a Subaru Impreza N14, Mubiru took advantage of  mechanical failures on the rally crews of Rajiv Ruparellia/Enock Olinga and Posiano Lwakataka/Paul Musaazi who had led day one in first and second respectively to post 1:44:06:69.
Mubiru, together with co-driver Musa Nsubuga has finished day one of the National Rally Championship (NRC) season opener third, beat Fred Busulwa/Joseph Bongole by 10 minutes, five seconds..
Lwakataka’s Subaru Impreza N12 B lost the front suspension while Rajiv’s Volkswagen experienced a rear suspension failure.
According to Rajiv, they were challenged when private car driver number UBG 999Q broke their way, thus they lost valuable time and a suspension.
“We were stopped and unable to complete the last stage having been in the lead of the Rukaari-Mbarara Rally 2020. Congartulations to Duncn Mubiru. See you in Jinja,” he said in a statement issued after the rally.
Mubiru, winner in 2014 and 2015 is now at level with Jas Mangat as the most successful drivers in Mbarara with three wins; Mangat having won 2012, 2018 and 2019.
It should be noted that some big names who included NRC champion Yasin Nasser, Mangat as well as 2015 champion Arthur Blick missed the 2020 season opener the rally.
The next event will be held between March 6-8 in Jinja.
1. Duncan Mubiru and Musa Nsubuga 1:44:06:69
2. Fred Busilwa and Joseph Bongole  1:54:11:59
3. Omar Mayanja and Hussein Mukuye 1:57:08:28

Leave A Reply