Supreme Court Agrees With Court Of Appeal On Dismissal Of 6 MPs

The Supreme Court sitting in Kampala has today June 4th 2020 upheld the Constitutional Court ruling that nullified the election of 6 Members of Parliament representing newly created Municipalities.

The ruling arises from a petition by former Bufumbira East MP Hon Eddie Kwizera Wagahungu who claimed that the election of Members of Parliament for the 6 Municipalities did not follow the law.

To this effect, the. panel of the justices comprising Mike Chibita, Stella Arach, Professor Lillian Tibatemwa, Richard Buteera, Opio Aweri and Paul Mugamba ordered the stay of execution of the lower court orders until the Supreme Court orders otherwise.
They also directed the Constitutional Court Registrar to expeditiously prepare the records of the proceedings to help in the appeal case.

The affected MPs include Dr Elioda Tumwesigye (Sheema), Tarsis Rwaburindori (Ibanda), Asuman Basalirwa (Bugiri), Patrick Ochan (Apac), Hashim Sulaiman (Nebbi) and Abraham Looki (Kotido).

On December 27th 2019,Constitutional Court ruled that the 6 MPs were irregularly elected and therefore should be vacate their positions but the Electoral Commission and Attorney General who were the respondents in the case appealed in the Supreme Court.

The ruling of the Supreme Court in Uganda is final. ” informer”

Leave A Reply