EC Releases MPs,Local Govt Voting Dates For 2021 Elections

 Uganda’s Electoral Commission ‘EC’ has  set 14th January 2021 as the voting day for Members of Parliament.

The campaigns for the category of Parliamentary elections (Members of Parliament and district Woman Members of Parliament) will start on 9th November 2020 and 12th January 2021 starting from 7pm to 6pm.

EC Chairperson, Justice Simon Mugenyi Byabakama on Thursday afternoon announced that the Presidential polling day will be communicated after the nomination of presidential aspirants. EC set 2nd and 3rd November 2020 as dates for the nomination of Presidential candidates.

EC encouraged people from using hate speech  and disobedience of Covid-19 Standard Operating Procedures during campaigns.

Byabakama also said that Candidates are allowed to hold rallies of not more than 70 people at one time.

There has been pressure mounted on the Electoral Commission especially by aspiring members of parliament to let them know on what dates they will be voted. The announcement of the dates has brought in relief to the aspiring candidates who will now concentrate on convincing the electorates to vote them.


Leave a Reply