FUFA Super League Holds Emergency Assembly Over Governance

The Federation of Uganda Football Associations (FUFA) Super League members held a successful extra ordinary General Assembly at Mandela National Stadium .

The well attended assembly saw 15 out of the 16 members convene. Only newly promoted Kyetume FC missed with an apology.

The well attended assembly saw 15 out of the 16 members convene. Only newly promoted Kyetume FC missed with an apology.

Of the 15 members in attendance, only 13 were eligible to participate in the voting exercise because the two other newly promoted clubs (Proline FC and Wakiso Giants FC) have not been admitted as full members until passed by the FUFA General Assembly due in September in Adjumani.

Also in attendance was the FUFA CEO Edgar Watson, second Vice President Darius Mugoye, third Vice President Florence Nakiwala Kiyingi as well as Executive Committee members Hamid Juma and Ronnie Kalema.

The main objective of this extra ordinary assembly was to conduct the elections for members of  the board, overseen by the FUFA Electoral commission’s team led by Acting Chairman Yusuf Awuye.

Yusuf Awuye (R)-Ag. FUFA Electoral Committee Chairman (right) with Arinaitwe Ruygendo.
Mandu (left) scored 13 out of 13 votes to remain on the Board. On the right is Yusuf Awuye -Ag. FUFA Electoral Committee Chairman
SC Villa’s Eng. William Nkemba casts his vote
L-R Yusuf Awuye -Ag. FUFA Electoral Committee Chairman , FUFA 3rd Vice President Hon. Florence Nakiwala Kiyingi, FUFA Exco member Ronnie Kalema and Tooro United FC CEO Owek. Micheal Wandera

The five board members; Arinaitwe Rugyendo, Humphrey Mandu Watenga, Ivan Fredrick “Guy” Kawuma, Peter Kibazo Kyasanku and David Sserebe Bunya all returned.

Mandu scored 13 votes out of expected 13. He was closely followed by Kibazo (12), Ruygendo and Serebe  each tallied 11 votes, Kawuma had 7, Njuba with 6 and Daniel Kalinaki scored four votes.

Another candidate Dr. Azah Taibu from BUL Football Club pulled out of moments before the tranquil electoral process.

In the voting for the Chairman of the Board, Arinaitwe was returned to the top position and will be deputised by David Serebe. 

The board will be steer the league another four years until 2023.

FSLL Board Members (2019-2023)

Chairman: Arinaitwe Rugendo

Vice Chairman: David Sserebe Bunya

Members: Humphrey Mandu Watenga, Fredrick Ivan Kawuma, Peter Kibazo Kyasanku

Members who attended the Assembly:

Ronald Mutebi (Bright Stars FC), Saleh Salmin (BUL FC), Diana Nyago (Busoga United FC), Kiryowa Kiwanuka (Express FC), Aggrey Ashaba (KCCA FC), Moses Kakungulu (Maroons FC), Mwine Mpaka (Mbarara City FC), Pius Bamwange (Onduparaka FC), AIGP Asan Kasingye (Police FC), Michael Wandera (Tooro United FC), William Nkemba (SC Villa FC), James Kizza (URA FC), George Mulindwa (Vipers SC), Sula Kamoga (Wakiso Giants FC), Hussein Kato Kalibala (Proline FC).


Leave A Reply