New Vetted Ministers Vow To Neutralise FDC,People Power Before 2021 Elections

The Appointments Committee of Parliament has vetted nine new ministers nominated by the President during a Cabinet reshuffle in December 2019.

The Constitution provides that Cabinet and other or state ministers shall be appointed by the President with the approval of Parliament from among Members of Parliament or persons qualified to be elected Members of Parliament.

The Speaker of Parliament Rebecca Kadaga, chaired the Committee on Appointments sitting on Friday 3 January 2020, the first meeting of any committee of the House or plenary in the new year.

Although the President made several changes in the reshuffle, it is only the persons new to the Cabinet that were required to appear before the House Committee as the others got their approval when they were first nominated.

On Friday, the Committee interfaced with Hon. Robinah Nabbanja (Kakumiro district) and Hon. Peter Ogwang (Usuk), who have both been Parliamentary Commissioners, who were nominated as State Ministers for Health (General Duties) and ICT and National Guidance respectively.

“I’m ready to work with the journalists and ask government to provide information to the country. Specifically on the areas of innovations in ICT we have to move the country to the next level of technology,” Ogwang said.

Hon. Denis Hamson Obua (Ajuri), a former Parliamentary Commissioner, was given the State for Sports docket. He said that the task ahead of him would be to get to know the different sports federations that he will be in charge of.

“I would have to move to all the federations so as to understand and appreciate the environment in which they are working,” he said adding that “I will also tour all sports facilities both national and regional in order to appreciate their predicaments, their conditions and situations, interact with the respective local governments to get the way forward.”

Hon Judith Nabakooba (Mityana district), who was nominated the Minister of Information Communication Technology and National Guidance, was formerly the Chairperson Committee on Defence and Internal Affairs in Parliament, and also served as a Police spokesperson.

Hon. Raphael Magezi (Igara West) nominated the Minister of Local Government. As a private member, he successfully moved a Constitution (Amendment) Bill that lifted age limits for presidential candidates. Hon. Jackson Kafuuzi (Kyaka South), who was one of the seconders of the Bill, was nominated the Deputy Attorney General.

Hon. Beatrice Anywar (Ind., Kitgum Munic.), who was nominated the Minister of State for Environment, formerly belonged to the Opposition, where she was a strong environmental advocate.

Hon. Hellen Adoa (Serere district) was nominated to the position of Minister of State for Fisheries.

Hon. Molly Kamukama, who was nominated to become the Minister of State for Economic Monitoring was the Principal Private Secretary to the President.


Leave A Reply