LoP Mpuuga Unleashes Shadow Cabinet To Parliament

The Leader of the Opposition Hon. Mathias Mpuuga, has presented a list of the new Shadow Cabinet that will serve in the 11th Parliament.
In a plenary session chaired by Deputy Speaker,  Anita Among , Mpuuga said that the cabinet will support him in running his office as the Leader of the Opposition.
“We made no attempt to tinker with the Constitution or the rules, to expand or enlarge the size of the Shadow Cabinet. We are believers in a lean Government and we have decided to lead and move by example,” he said.
He added that the shadow Cabinet was presented before the House, given its impact on public affairs.
The unveiling of the Shadow Cabinet follows the appointment and approval of the NRM led cabinet. The Shadow Cabinet includes Hon. Wilfred Niwagaba as the Shadow Attorney General, Hon. Shamim Malende as the Shadow Minister for Justice and Constitutional Affairs and Hon. Muwanga Kivumbi as Finance, Planning and Economic Development.
The others are Hon. Abed Bwanika for Agriculture, Hon. Brenda Nabukenya for  Education and Hon. Jonathan Odur takes Defence and Veterans Affairs docket.
Hon. Francis Mwijukye is the Shadow Minister for Trade and Industry, Hon. Betty Naluyima takes  Local Government, Hon. Hanifa Nabukera is Shadow Minister for Human Rights and Hon. Christine Kaaya is the Shadow Minister for Water and Environment.
Hon. Goretti Namugga will oversee the Ministry of Science, Innovation and Technology as Shadow Minister, whereas Hon. Hillary Kiyaga  takes charge of the Ministry of Culture and Performing Arts.
Hon. Anna Adeke Ebaju is Shadow Minister for Cooperatives and Microfinance, Hon. Joyce Bagala takes charge of Information and Anti-Corruption and Hon. Charles Tebandeke is the Shadow Minister for Animal Industry and Fisheries.
Hon. Santa Okot has been appointed as the Shadow Minister for Special Regions, which include Luweero, Rwenzori, Karamoja, Northern Uganda, Bunyoro and Teso.
Hon. Gilbert Olanya takes the mantle of Shadow Minister for East African Community Affairs and Hon. Godfrey Kayemba takes that of Sports.

Leave A Reply