ERA Receives Courtesy Visit From UETCL Board, Pledges Continued Support For Social, Economic Transformation

The Electricity Regulatory Authority (ERA) has pledged continued support to the Uganda Electricity Transmission Company Limited (UETCL) .

This happened on Tuesday, July 5, 2022 when the Electricity Regulatory Authority (ERA) hosted the newly inaugurated board of UETCL on a courtesy visit at ERA House, Plot 5C-1 Third Street Lugogo, Kampala.

The Minister of Energy and Mineral Development, Hon. Dr. Ruth Nankabirwa on June 8, 2022, swore in the new UETCL board of directors with Mr. Kwame Ejalu Ejuku as the new Board Chairman. Other members of the new board are Ms. Achiro Sharon Loka (an independent director), Eng. Innocent Oboko Yotkum (Independent Director), Ms. Sylvia Muwebwa Nabatanzi (independent director); Mr. Julius Mukholi Wamukota (non-independent director and also the representative of the Ministry of Finance), and Eng. Cecilia Nakiranda Menya, a non-independent director and also the representative of the Ministry of Energy and Mineral Development.

Officials from UETCL and ERA pose for a photo during the visit at ERA Offices

Dr. Sarah Wasagali Kanaabi, the Chairperson of the Authority, congratulated the UETCL Board upon their appointment and thanked the Board for accepting to serve the Electricity Supply Industry as the stewards of the UETCL. “Your appointment is a demonstration of trust and confidence in your abilities that equally comes with great expectations,” said Dr. Wasagali.

Dr. Wasagali emphasized that UETCL’s sustainability, sound governance, and Going Concern status were of great interest and concern to the Authority and stakeholders in the entire Electricity Supply Industry value chain.

She pledged ERA’s unreserved commitment to support the UETCL Board to effectively execute its mandate so that it can contribute to the achievement of the Government of Uganda’s aspirations for the improved social welfare of society for the socio-economic transformation of our country Uganda.

Officials from ERA, UETCL pose for a photo at ERA Offices on Tuesday July 5, 2022

Mr. Kwame Ejalu Ejuku, the Chairman of the Board of Directors of UETCL, thanked the Authority for the warm reception and congratulatory messages.
“We were honoured by our appointment to this crucial sector in the development of our country, and we take it seriously. As we took our roles, we were aware of the negative stories circulating in the media. We are committed to creating a well-governed and vibrant institution,” said Mr. Ejalu.

“We pledge to cooperate and thank the Authority for the support already rendered. We value ERA as our priority stakeholder.”

Present at the reception of the UETCL board were the Board and the Chief Executive Officer of Electricity Regulatory Authority Eng. Ziria Tibalwa Waako, and George Rabajungu, the Chief Executive Officer of Uganda Electricity Transmission Company Limited.


Leave A Reply