President Museveni Announces Cabinet Reshuffle: Key Changes Unveiled

In a significant move aimed at bolstering governance and advancing Uganda’s development agenda, President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni has announced a cabinet reshuffle, ushering in a wave of changes within the country’s leadership structure.

The reshuffle, which comes at a crucial juncture in Uganda’s political landscape, sees several key appointments and reassignments across various ministerial portfolios. These changes reflect President Museveni’s commitment to enhancing efficiency, fostering inclusivity, and addressing emerging challenges facing the nation.

Among the notable changes unveiled in the reshuffle is the appointment of new ministers to key ministries responsible for critical sectors of the economy and governance. Additionally, existing ministers have been reassigned to different portfolios, bringing fresh perspectives and expertise to their respective roles.

“I hereby inform the country that by virtual of the authority given to the President of Uganda by articles: 108 (2), 108A (1), 113(1) and 114(1) of the 1995 Constitution of the Republic of Uganda,  that here below I publish a slightly amended list of the cabinet of Uganda,” President Museveni said.

The President has maintained H.E Jessica Alupo as the Vice President, Rt. Hon.  Robinah Nabbanja as the Prime Minister, Rt. Hon.  Rebecca Kadaga as the 1st Deputy Prime Minister,  Gen. Moses Ali as the 2nd Deputy Prime Minister and Rt. Hon. Lukia Nakadama as 3rd Deputy Prime Minister.

Other retained  Ministers include the Minister for Presidency, Hon.  Babirye Milly Babalanda,  Security Minister, Hon. Jim Muhwezi, and Kampala Minister Hajjat Minsa Kabanda,  among others.

Those who have been dropped include Defence Minister,  Vincent Bamulangaki Ssempijja,  who has been named Senior Presidential Advisor and Minister for Karamoja, Dr Maria Goretti Kitutu and her deputy Agnes Nandutu.

The new ministers who have made it on the list include events organiser, Balaam Byarugahara who has been named Minister of State for Youth and Children Affairs,  Gen.  Wilson Mbasu Mbadi who has been named Minister of State for Trade and Dr Kenneth Omona who has been named Minister of State for Northern Uganda and Lilian Aber who has been named Minister of State for Disaster Preparedness and Refugees.

See full list:


Leave A Reply