McKinstry Outs Cranes Squad For CECAFA Cup

Uganda Cranes Head Coach Johnathan McKinstry has named his final 20-man squad that will play for in the CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup starting from Saturday 7th – 19th December 2019.

The selected players are all locally based and play their trade in the StarTimes Uganda Premier League.

Vipers SC defender Halid Lwaliwa is given the responsibility to lead the squad as the team Captain.

The decision of selecting the 20 plays was difficult. We have had 26 players in the previous days. Me and my coaches I discussed for more than two hours to have the final list. Not because we lack talent but because there is so much talent within the squad. The six players who missed out are just unfortunate,” said McKinstry after naming the squad.

We know that Burundi is going to prove to be tough opponents tomorrow. They are still wounded after the CHAN qualifier loss home and away. They may come to stop the record against us but all our players are ready for that,” added McKinstry.

Uganda Cranes is in Group A alongside Burundi, Somalia, Eritrea, and Djibouti.

The opening match is against Burundi on Saturday 7th December at 4:00 pm at the StarTimes at Stadium Lugogo.

The Cranes will face Somalia in the second game on Monday 9th December before playing against Eritrea and Djibouti on Wednesday 11th and Sunday 15th December respectively.

Final Squad:

Goalkeepers; Charles Lukwago (KCCCA FC) and Joel Mutakubwa (Kyetume FC)

Defenders: Paul Willa (Vipers SC), Mustafa Kizza (KCCA FC), John Revita (KCCA FC), Musitafa Mujuzi (Proline FC), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers SC) (Capt), Paul Mbowa (URA FC).

Midfielders: Shafiq Kagimu (URA FC), Karim Watambala (Vipers SC), Nicolas Kasozi (KCCA FC), Bright Anukani (Proline FC), Muzamiru Mutyaba (KCCA FC)

Forwards; Allan Okello (KCCA FC), Viane Sekajugo (Wakiso Giants), Joachiam Ojera (URA FC), Ben Ocen (Police FC), Joel Madondo (Busoga United), Fahad Bayo (Vipers SC), Steven Mukwala (Maroons FC).

You may like

Leave A Reply