Just In! Jubilant Matia Kasaija Declared Unopposed For Buyanja County Parliamentary Seat

The Uganda Electoral Commission has declared the Minister of Finance Matia Kasaija unopposed for the Buyanja County Parliamentary seat in Kibale district.

The declaration follows a withdraw from his rival Paul Kyalimpa who was an independent candidate.

This was confirmed by a letter dated December 7, 2020, signed by Ipeto Agrey James, Kibale District Returning Officer and addressed to the Chair of the Election Commission Justice Simon Byabakama, confirming receipt and consideration of Kyalimpa’s withdrawal.

“Accordingly, as a returning officer for Kibale electoral district, according to the Parliamentary Elections Act 2005 (as amended), I declare Hon Matia Kasaija of the National Resistance Movement NRM as a duly elected Member of Parliament for Buyanja constituency”, reads part of the letter.

Hon Kasaija joins several other parliamentarians to be declared unopposed since the campaigns began in November.

Among them is Frank Kagyigyi Tumwebaze from Kibale East County, Pius Wakabi from Bugahya County, Hoima District, Hilary Lokwang from Ik County in Kaabong District and Enock Nyongore from Nakaseke North, Nakaseke District.

Others are Emely Kugonza of Buyanja East, Kibaale District, Lillian Papalu Obiale for Woman MP Arua District as well as Gyavira Ssemwanga of Buyamba County, Rakai District and Anita Amongi (Bukedea).


Do you have a story in your community or an opinion to share with us: Email us at thecapitaltimeseditorial@gmail.com or call +256757223865

Leave A Reply